Can The Five Love Languages Save Your Marriage?

We have all heard that marriage is hard work. But have you heard of the Five Love Languages? Many couples may wonder which of the Five Love Languages their significant other speaks. Can it really break or save your marriage? Keep reading if you want to find out what the love languages fuss is all about.

Newlyweds have undoubtedly been given solicited and often unsolicited advice on what makes a marriage work. Personally, I believe that commitment and communication are the most important ingredients in any successful marriage. I think a lot of people stay married due to their patience (emphasis on patience) and understanding for each other.

Our mobile devices and social media may divert our attention away from our spouse and instead follow and keep up the lives of other seemingly ‘perfect Instagram couples’. In this day and age of social media and instant gratification, people may forget that in a marriage your partner may not always be as romantic. Contrary to what movies may have us believe. Most men are not the perfect prince on a white horse. Compromise and consideration for your spouse are really what should be highlighted in movies. But that can be a discussion for another day.

Can The Five Love Languages Save Your Marriage?

Now to get to the topic at hand, can the 5 love languages really save your marriage? Many psychologists and relationship experts often dive in way deeper into what makes couples compatible. Some people believe in reading horoscopes or taking compatibility and personality tests to find the answer to the much-asked question ‘Is he the one’?

Relationship counsellor Gary Chapman wrote his marriage handbook titled ‘Five Love Languages’ to provide couples with theories on what love language they and their partner speak. The idea behind the concept is that notably we all express and appreciate love in different ways. Understanding what your spouse values in a marriage and putting the work in to nurture those values can really build a strong foundation for your relationship.

Chapman has described the five languages in his own words:

”My conclusion after thirty years of marriage counselling is that there are basically five emotional love languages. Five ways that people speak and understand emotional love. In the field of linguistics, a language may have numerous dialects or variations. Similarly, within the five basic emotional love languages, there are many dialects…The important thing is to speak the love language of your spouse.”

These are the Five Love Languages Chapman has coined and a brief description of what each emotional love language means:

1. Words of Affirmation

Using endearing language, expressing affections using speech, praising or complimenting and appreciating your spouse.

2. Acts of Service

Showing your love through actions rather than words, this can be things like cooking, cleaning or taking care of your partner.

3. Receiving Gifts

This is not a materialistic love language but rather a symbolic expression of love. For instance, this can be handwritten love notes or a surprise for your significant other.

4. Quality Time

Paying attention to your partner in an undivided way. Showing them you enjoy their company and want to spend time together.

5. Physical Touch

With this love language, the speaker feels affection through physical touch.

There is no scientific research to back up Chapman’s theory. However, a lot of us can apply a few if not all of these love languages to our personal expression of love. This is because it’s relatable and we often wish our partner was more like us. We often find ourselves wishing ”if only he listened more, remembered important dates or just took the trash without being asked a 100 times”.

We can all find a long list of demands and expectations we place on our partners without them even knowing it and then wonder why they are not living up to those expectations. Let’s face it no one is perfect! But we can certainly start with trying to understand each other and communicate more effectively.

What Is Your Love Language?

Curious to see what your love language is? Click here to take the quiz. If you are in a relationship make sure you both take it. It might even help you with understanding your primary love language, what it means, and how you can use it to connect with others.

It’s certainly worth a try, let us know what love language you speak. Comment below if you live by this theory or if you disagree completely.